About Collège-Nordique

Teaching by and for Northerners

Collège Nordique, located in Yellowknife, is the only educational institution North of 60 where you can develop your language and professional skills or pursue post-secondary studies in French. In person or online. Right here in the North.

When it was founded in Yellowknife in 2011, Collège Nordique had a vision: to contribute to the vitality of the francophone community in the North by offering quality education that promotes cultural and linguistic diversity and inclusion.

Our varied programs are destined to the NWT community and to everybody who wants to learn more about the Northern culture. With us, students can pursue post-secondary studies in French or professional development, improve their language skills or learn more about their community. They can learn individually or in groups, in person or online. Whatever our students choose, they can count on our deeply rooted values of creativity, diversity, commitment and pride.

Our team reflects our community

Collège Nordique is a non-profit organization funded in part by the Northwest Territories Department of Education, Culture and Employment.

Elected at our Annual General Meeting, the members of our Board of Directors represent our Northern francophone and francophile community. The following directors are responsible for establishing the priorities and strategic organization of our institution:

– Jean-François Pitre, President, Businessman
– France Benoit, Administrator, Filmmaker, Farmer
– Angélique Ruzindana, Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer, Lab Technician
– Lynn Hjartarson, Administrator, Lawyer

Our staff includes key employees who serve our customers and manage our day-to-day operations:

Josée Clermont

General Director 
direction@college-nordique.com | (867) 920-7027

Awa Mbacké

Associate Director of Administration and Finance 
ambacke@college-nordique.com | (867) 920-7017, Ext 105

Last, but certainly not least, the qualified, passionate individuals who make up our faculty:

– Lucero Hernandez
Rosie Benning
– Sandra Ayling
– Tamlin Gilbert
– Georgina Franki
– Edgar Sánchez

For more information, please see our Documents section.